Herringbone Overdyeing Experiment

Isn’t this a pretty stack of grey checks and herringbones? Some just arrived in the mail and some are part of my stash. It must be the time of year to order woolens; I’ve been getting a lot of e-mails from my hooking group about orders they’ve received!

I love Winter, but it is awfully monochromatic, so dyeing wool is the perfect activity. My husband Peter was away for almost 10 days because of the blizzard, so that was a great time to spread out in my dye studio…. better known as the kitchen.

In another post I will tell those of you who don’t dye how to do it. For today, let’s look at the results!

I don’t know if you can see (click to enlarge the picture) but the base wool is a camel-colored herringbone. I am still pretty new to overdyeing, so I decided to try 1/4 teaspoon of red, yellow and blue dyes to see what would happen using just primary colors. I really like the yellow! I guess the white part of the weave dyed bright and the camel part toned it down, but I think the sample has nice movement. I am not sure what I think about the other two colors.

The base wool for this experiment is a grey herringbone. The grey is on the dark side and it has some flecks, which I like. Again, I used 1/4 teaspoon of red, yellow and blue. I had torn more pieces of this fabric, so I chose a mixed color to experiment with – the formula is 3 parts of yellow mixed with 1 part of red. The pale sample uses 1 teaspoon of that formula and the one on the right is 2 teaspoons. I love these colors! They dyed quite unevenly, which will make them very fun to hook. Can’t you see a pumpkin in their future?

When you are a hooker (;-D) and the fabrics are dry, all you want to do is cut the fabrics into strips and hook them to see what they will look like! I do restrain myself long enough to get sample squares cut and labeled and put in my dye book. Nothing makes me madder than coming upon a piece of fabric I like and not remembering what the formula was.

It was a good day of dyeing. Next up, experimenting with greens.

One thought on “Herringbone Overdyeing Experiment

Leave a Reply

