The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society

Here is my February Great Read, The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society.

I came across this book in the library when I was searching for something else. The cover looked interesting. The book was highly recommended by the author of Eat,Pray,Love, which I haven’t read but mean to. Since I wasn’t sure the books I had chosen would hit the spot, I took this one out as well and I really, really enjoyed it!

The book is written by Mary Ann Shaffer & Annie Barrows. It is a series of letters written between the main character (and what a character she is!) Juliet and a series of friends, relatives and new friends that she makes. It’s set in 1946 London and Guernsey and deals with how both places are recovering in the aftermath of the war. I really know so little about the war in Europe and even less so about the Channel Islands and I quite enjoyed learning, for instance, that Guernsey is so close to France that they could see the Germans invading there…yowie… and knew that they would be next! Both Juliet and her new friends from Guernsey remember the war years in quite different ways. Juliet talks about the horrors of the nightly bombings. The Channel Islanders were occupied by Germany and watched as the bombers flew to London each night.

I enjoyed the book so much that when I was getting close to the end of it, I saved it until I had time to savor the ending. I was interested to note on the Amazon site, that people who liked this book also liked The Help, which I talked about in a December posting.

There is one very sad thing about the book; there will be no more from Mary Ann Shaffer. Evidently after she completed the book she became ill. Her niece, Annie Barrows worked on it before it was published and her aunt is now dead.

I read someone else’s review and they said they’d like to book a trip to Guernsey and I must admit I feel that way too! Has anyone else read it?

2 thoughts on “The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society

  1. I read the book last year in one of my book clubs and had the same reaction as you. It is on my list of favorites. I had heard the title before but thought it was a bit goofy so never thought about reading until it was a club pick. Have you read The Art of Racing in the Rain by Garth Stein? It’s another one I enjoyed through the same book group.

Leave a Reply

