March’s Cool Tool- a paper punch???

Rated: E (everyone)

Another odd entry into a Fiber Artist’s cool tool list you’re thinking? What can I say, I do like to be inclusive.

I discovered this month’s tool in an odd way. Many years ago, I was reading someone’s website about making jewelry from these plastic discs. In those days people didn’t use links much so I had to do some serious Googling to find them. I found out that the discs were actually used as the “rings” to hold together a notebook system. It was called Rollabind, but nowadays it is called Circa and it is sold exclusively by the very wonderful Levenger company.

At first I bought the small puncher and some rings (it’s the little boxy shape in the picture). It’s a bit tricky to use as you have to carefully move it down a large piece of paper to get even punches. Then, after a business trip, Peter came home talking about this cool notebook system his big boss was using…. I quizzed him a bit and found out it was Circa! So for his next birthday, I treated us both by buying the very nice large puncher.

Since the system is essentially just a hole puncher, and the pages pull in and out of the discs so easily, you can do so many things with it. I am using it to make notebooks of my Daily Dose of Fiber postings. You can punch business cards and keep them organized and categorized. The famous Home Style Diva punched holes in her Christmas cards one year to save them. And of course you can make any size book, booklet or card that you like. Peter’s notes are in a very nice leather binder and I like the brightly colored artsy ones. Levenger sells a variety of covers, but it’s easy enough to make your own with the wealth of paper that’s available nowadays.

Back to those rings; the jewelry people I came across all those years ago, glued a tiny image on the center of each disc and then they would punch holes in them for bracelets and earrings. The discs do come in a nice assortment of sizes and some colors. The wider the disc, the fatter your notebook can be.

If you like notebooks, this is a great system for creating your own!

On a house keeping note, I want to point out the new logo on my sidebar. I am very pleased to be a part of Quilting Bloggers! It’s a great resource for finding quilters, stores, guilds – everything you’d want on the Internet. Check it out!

2 thoughts on “March’s Cool Tool- a paper punch???

  1. A cool tool indeed. I love a book that will lay flat without having to use “bricks” on each side to keep it open! I had thought about using blog2print.com to make my blog books, but maybe I should make my own.

Leave a Reply

