Folk Art Fair Preparations

The Midwest Fiber & Folk Art Fair is coming! It starts Friday, so I’ve been getting the supplies ready for my classes. I will be teaching Primitive Rug Hooking on Friday afternoon. The first item I check is the backgrounds and count how many bags are made up. It makes more work for me, but I do like to have several choices for the students. (When I am a student, I like choices!) I will have several plain-colored wools and overdyed plaids. Then I make sure that I have a good selection of the heart and flower colors; colors that will look nice with the various backgrounds.

The biggest job in preparing the supplies is cutting the wool into strips. As you can see from the cutter, a lot of lint comes off of the strips, so I wear a mask. Jasmine likes to be front and center with any sort of preparations, but wool is always a big draw for her; so warm and fuzzy.

Gizmo has been testing out a hooking frame I thought my students might like to try. No decision as yet; he is a methodical little man.

I will be teaching two one hour demos as well; showing students how to do English Paper Piecing. It’s pretty simple really, so after my short demo, they will have time to start sewing a little hex. Many thanks to Paper Pieces! They sell a huge array of sizes and shapes of paper piecing bases and sent me packets to use with my students.

When not teaching, I will be hanging out with the Foxy Ladies Rug Hooking Guild. There will be a display of hooked pieces, and each day of the fair will have a different array of rugs and stools and mats, depending on what hookers are there and what pieces they bring. Fun! (I will take pictures!) I will need something to hook while I am there. I just dyed some more greens for my clamshell rug, so I think I will take that. It’s fairly mindless hooking so I can talk with people as they stop by.

If you live in the area, I hope you come to the fair!!! It’s a wonderful event.

5 thoughts on “Folk Art Fair Preparations

  1. I’ll try to go and shop at the fair either Saturday or Sunday. I did hear there will be a couple rug hooking/wool vendors.
    Laura

  2. The fair and your classes sound like so much fun. Wish I could be there. Maybe the next one. Can’t wait for pictures. Love to see what your up to.Have fun as always.Love, B

Leave a Reply

