Half Hexagon Class

On Saturday, Peter and I drove to the Johnsburg IL Public Library. He headed off on his bike in the drizzle and I unpacked my kits and supplies. Nine ladies joined me for a class on how to hand piece half hexagons, which is a new class. You know that I love hexagons, but did you know that the shape can be divided in several ways which will make lots of interesting variations? I have so many fun pictures of the class that I won’t put my class sample on here, but you can see it on my website.

I like to ask the ladies what their sewing experience is (like- have they ever held a needle before?!?!?) One lady took the cake. She said, “I thought it would be good to learn hand sewing. My husband and I camp a lot and I thought he would appreciate it if I had something to do rather than saying “Aren’t you too close to the car ahead ?” or “We’re awfully close to the side of the road!””  Isn’t that too funny?

Each student got a baggy with some of the pieces cut out and marked, a piece of felt with a threaded needle (;-D) and a few pins as well as the templates on a piece of paper. They were quite nervous about sewing the two hexagon halves together; I don’t know why!

Two ladies had taken the grandmother’s flower garden class I had taught at the library a year or so ago, so I knew they could sew and there were several (machine) quilters as well. While I demonstrated for half of the group, the other went over to the supply table and chose and cut out middles for their piece.

There are quite a few ways you can put the half hexes together after you sew them and I showed the ladies some examples that I had sewn. As I walked around the tables, I watched them move their pieces around to make different designs…

This was a variation I had not thought of – isn’t it fun? It occurred to me then that you could use a limited amount of fabrics for this quilt and then arrange the half hexes in many, many patterns.

I really like teaching at public libraries. They usually charge $5 for supplies and such a variety of people take the classes. And this was a fun group. They talked and laughed and I hope that some of them have caught the hexagon bug.

Thanks to Maria and everyone at the library for having me!

One thought on “Half Hexagon Class

  1. Looks like your class went very well. These are lovely variations-there are just so many things one can do with hexagons. I’m still holding off on starting my project. I like the lady who wanted to work on a project so she wouldn’t bother her husband about his driving. 🙂

Leave a Reply

