Scrappy Hexagon Class

Wednesday night I had a class of 5 ladies all anxious to learn how to construct hexagons using the English Paper Piecing technique. I introduce people to this technique during an hour demo at the Midwest Fiber & Folk Fest, but I wanted to design a class to move further than that and actually get to the finishing part. So I came up with the little quilt below, which you have seen before.

It was a bit confusing at first. One lady came with a bunch of 1″ pieces already constructed, feeling sure she didn’t know the proper technique. Two others had bought a “kit” and a book; I had no idea what they were talking about! And the last two didn’t seem to know that there was a project and hadn’t pre cut the fabric for their quilt top. Whew- I have no idea what the disconnect was as the description I wrote for the newsletter went something like : This quilt was designed to showcase the English Paper Pieced hexagons…..

But no matter – – – I had scheduled 3 hours (I never know how long to allow, with people sharing irons and cutting tables and so much going on), so there was plenty of time to deal with everyone! I got the two making my project sewing strips and demonstrated the EPP technique to those who were ready. (Turns out the “kit” went with a EPP doll quilt in the store and was sewn on a one piece background.) I had come up with a quick way to piece the lattice and background squares for the top, and the other ladies were ready to learn EPP in no time.

We ended up gathering at one table, like a sewing circle, and talked as they sewed. Below you see the pieces already sewn together by the one woman. It’s a true scrappy hexagon!

By the end of the evening, the two ladies making the project each got a hexagon appliqued to their top. The two ladies making the doll quilts each completed a hexagon and were starting another. The woman who brought her project got a lot of questions answered, though the big one about how to finish the EPP hexes as a “real” quilt was one I wasn’t sure about. The people at Paperpieces.com are really friendly and I suggested she e-mail them for advice.

I am happy to report that everyone loved sewing the squares and I am sure will continue with whatever project they started! That’s the best part for any teacher – students who are happy and excited about a new technique. It’s one of the many reasons I enjoy teaching so much.

Leave a Reply

