Rug Hooking at Sauder Village

Peter and I had a bit of a vacation last week. We drove to Saugatuck Michigan for a night and then on to Sauder Village, in Archibold Ohio. I had never heard of the place until last Fall at the Mc Gown National Exhibit (a rug hooking show). One of the vendors said it was the biggest rug hooking show in the country! I found the site online and signed up to take a few classes. You can check out the link for Sauder Village and see what they are about; and they have all sorts of fun craft related events . It’s a nice place; I would call it a very small-scale Sturbridge Village.

I don’t think the show was bigger than the McGown show, but it was certainly good. There were several special shows and vendors as well. I must say that rug hookers aren’t any different from quilters in the shopping arena; we all love to shop for our bits of fabrics be they wool or cotton! I photographed a few pieces and several of the shots did not come out well, but here are a few I can share with you.

I really enjoy it when there are several rugs of the same design in the show and they are hung together. Here we have Give Ye Thanks, designed by Lori Brechlin. The top primitive version was hooked by Barbara Hoffman and the bottom one was done by Jan Adler. Though I like both colorways, the bottom one with the amazing blue background really sings!

I am a fan of folk art and this angel design caught my eye. And – turns out the designer is again Lori Brechlin and was adapted and hooked by Alicia McLeod.

This rug was spectacular! The design is by Pearl McGown, the doyenne of the rug hooking world. It was skillfully hooked by Lona Gabree and was a finalist in the Rug Hooking magazine Celebration contest. Do click on the photo to view a larger picture of it…..the colors are magnificent.

One of the special exhibits was a selection of the work of Patty Yoder. I had seen her designs in a book was so pleased to be able to view them in person. She did many designs of sheep, both realistic and quirky and was able to do both styles well. This amazing grouping is called F is for Frank and his Friends in the Upper Barn. The llama, it turns out, guarded the sheep!

I love sheep, especially their faces. I used to spin and I also worked at a sheep farm, spinning and dyeing and knitting mittens to sell. My mother started a sheep collection for me and I still have many of them. (I’m thinking I need to hook some sheep!)

And I will end with this colorful and delightful sheep! Honestly – the colors are so vivid and the design too clever! Patty Yoder is gone now, but her work lives on in these rugs and also her book entitled The Alphabet of Sheep.

3 thoughts on “Rug Hooking at Sauder Village

  1. The Alphabet of Sheep is too clever. I also have a collection of sheep–somewhere–from when I was a spinner. You may inherit a couple in Houston if you are still collecting.

  2. There is so much detail in each of the rugs-fabulous! You tell that much time went into each masterpiece. Of the two ‘Give Ye Thanks,’ the blue one makes the house and trees really stand out, as you say, it “really sings.” The one by Lona Gabree is more traditional, but I love the colors-they are all beautiful. So, glad you were able to go and share these.

  3. Nice site, keep up the good work, my colleagues would love this. I read many blogs on a daily basis, and for the most part the authors lack substance, but not in this case. I just wanted to make a short comment to say I’m glad I found your blog, I’m gonna bookmark the adailydoseoffiber.wordpress.com web site. Thanks

Leave a Reply

