Newtown, Pennsylvania

is my home town and I am visiting before I head off to the rug hooking events in the central part of the state. It was founded in the late 1600’s by William Penn and is full of history. I thought it was beautiful when I was growing up, but visiting as an adult, I feel lucky to have called Newtown home. Walking around town with camera in hand, I took a few pictures to share. This lovely row of buildings is on Court Street, one of the oldest parts of town.

20111015-221822.jpg
Newtown’s most famous resident was Edward Hicks, who painted the charming “Peaceable Kingdom” paintings. He was a Quaker and his main trade was painting signs and furniture. His contemporaries thought very little of those now famous paintings – they were frivolous and unnecessary!

20111015-223118.jpg
While wandering around I got hungry. Here is my lunch – a real Philadelphia hoagie!!!

20111015-223315.jpg

Newtown’s main street, State Street, except for businesses that come and go, is the same as it was many years ago. Standing there in the warm Fall sun, I squinted my eyes and saw a man striding along the sidewalk. A little girl with blonde braids was skipping along beside him, chattering and trying to keep up……. It was indeed a wonderful place to grow up…..

20111015-224144.jpg

<a

2 thoughts on “Newtown, Pennsylvania

Leave a Reply

