The Year of the Dragon!!!

2012 is the Asian year of the Dragon.

If you were born in 1940,1952,1964,1976,1988…etc..this is your year to celebrate! Did you know – when you have celebrated 5 cycles of the 12 animals, then you are old and should be respected. I think I need to print up a bumper sticker or a button for my lapel so that people understand that they need treat me properly after my birthday this year…

As well as an animal, each year has an earth element associated with it. This year it’s a water related one – 2012 and the year I was born are called Dragon in the Rain. My dragon book tells me that the fiery dragon is flying in the moist clouds and rain and is a “perfect” yin and yang. I was supposed to have some difficulties in my youth and I wish I had known back then. Perhaps my parents would have been less worried about how many times I was in the principal’s office, and my teachers would have written nicer comments on my report cards!

After reading the predictions online, 2012 is supposed to be a “stable” year and a good time for new beginnings and self-improvement. I like the sound of that! Another astrologer says that world economies are going to be unstable again, but I’m not sure you need to be an astrologer to figure that out!

The cut paper zodiacs above were created by a wonderful third generation paper-cutter that I knew in Shanghai. The sweet stuffed animals below are from Japan. The fabric is screen printed and then cut and sewn.

Happy New Year!

2 thoughts on “The Year of the Dragon!!!

  1. This is a true wealth of information. The zodiac piece is absolutely fantastic. Wow! Congratulations on reaching the ‘true age of respect.’ I still have a few more to go. I really think you are onto something with the bumper sticker!

Leave a Reply

