Something Old & Something New

I have been working on my rug hooking design from Susan Quicksall’s class after lunch, when I have the time, and I did a bit during the Super Bowl as well. It is a kit and because I want to know how she gets the effect she does, I need to read the instructions and pay close attention! The kit includes so many colors and textures and I also cut as I go, so it is not a mindless project. For the most part, I very much like the colors, though I am supplementing now and then with some of my own wool. I just added some background and am really loving the warm rusty-red with the very cool green leaves! The two colors sing as I hook them.

I am sorry to report that I have lost my swirling stars project….very sorry. I lost it on the trip to Pennsylvania. I stayed in many places and had a rental car. I have contacted several B&B’s and motels, but my suspicion is that it got “lost” in the large, dark trunk of the rental car…..

I love the swirling stars, but I am too disheartened to start another one of them right now. I do always need a hand piecing project for travel and off times, so I decided to go back to my favorite hexagons. But – I am actually going to plan this top. There are so many wonderful patterns to be made with hexes and I certainly have enough grandmother’s flower garden versions by now. One pattern I really like is a star shape and I want this to be the center of the quilt. The tiny one below is English paper pieced using 1/4″ pieces from Paper Pieces. (The graph paper printout is also from their website.) I colored some hex graph paper to play with ideas. The template is nearly invisible, but it from Pat Yamin. It’s a good bit larger than the size I usually use, but in this quilt I want to include some other divisions of the hexagon, and I have all of the coordinating sizes of templates I need from her site.

And what fabrics did I choose? I started to pull out the large container of yellows, pinks and oranges left over from my niece’s quilt, but I use those colors so often. I looked around the studio at the stacks of fabrics and my eye was caught by the French collection. Many of them I have bought on trips to France, and others were collected from various fabric dealers at quilt shows. I particularly love the French primary colored fabrics; they are so crisp and summery. So the idea of a new quilt for the very red guest bedroom came to be!

I quickly sewed the middle together last night and I like it. I love the paisley sort of heart shape you see in so many French and Indian fabrics and I plan to repeat that fabric in some other places. The striped fabric is hard to see (and may vibrate on your monitor!) but it is a dark green and is a “quiet” area of the design. Next comes a medium blue with a very tiny dot and the sweet yellow allover print. The background fabric for the star part of the quilt will be the white with the tiny flowers. There are other shapes to design around the star, but they will be auditioned when the star is completed.

One thought on “Something Old & Something New

  1. So sorry that your swirling stars quilt did not materialize. It makes me sick thinking about it. But I love your new rug and can’t wait to see more of it. Also the hexagons are going to be lovely. Nice that you are making something to use in your own home.

Leave a Reply

