Back to the Loom & the Winners!

Getting a warp on the loom has been on my mental to do list for a long time. I would like to sell my Macomber loom before we move and I want to make sure that everything is working properly.  Since I use it as a place to drape quilt tops and fabrics, it can be easy to ignore. The first order of business was to get everything off of it and clear a space around it.

There is a good bit of math involved in hand weaving, which is perhaps why it isn’t so popular anymore. I am going to weave runners, and the math is easy since I have done so many over the years.  I have a cheat sheet with everything I need to know on it and all I have to do is to decide the length of the warp. I have decided to weave Christmas runners as this fabric has been sitting beside the loom for some time.

First you need to wind a warp. This piece of equipment is called a warping reel. I tied a piece of thick string on it which is 7 yards long and I followed its path with the cotton rug warp that I am using. It goes pretty smoothly, unless a cat gets involved. I started doing this after lunch when the cats generally sleep. Jasmine was upstairs but her sixth sense told her that I was doing something interesting, so she crept down the stairs. After watching the spinning reel and thread for a while, she attacked. The result was that she got tangled up in the thread. This scared her so she tore up the stairs with the thread unwinding behind her! She got all the way to the kitchen before it came loose. Gizmo, who is very cautious, watched all this from my desk chair.

Next you need to warp the loom, which means getting all these threads spaced and threaded. There are a variety of ways to do it, but I am doing it from the front to the back. First I threaded the cotton thread through the reed, with openings that are 12 to the inch, which gets them nicely spaced out.

Then I thread them through the “heddles”. This loom has 12 harnesses but I will only use 4 for this simple project. The threading pattern is 1 2 3 4 1 2 3 4 since I am doing a plain weave (over and under). If you have ever woven potholders you know how to do this!

To be continued…

And here’s the big news. I decided that there was enough fabric to split in two, so the winners are:

Cynthia and Quiltfever

Let me know your address and tune in again on Friday!

One thought on “Back to the Loom & the Winners!

Leave a Reply

