Prairie Treasures Quilt Show: part one

Saturday was the monthly meeting for Foxy Ladies Rug Hooking Guild. We discussed how much we enjoyed the day at The Grove Festival, and most of us were working on the same projects. After the business meeting, I drove north to check out the Prairie Treasures Quilt Show. The advertisement said that there would be 300 quilts to see plus vendors! Sounded fun.

It was a very nice show with lots to look at. I forgot my good camera, so I am sharing iPhone pics with you. They aren’t the best! I did try to adjust the colors but the lighting made that impossible! This quilt bowled me over and it’s a pattern that I love, Aunt Millie’s Garden by Piece O’Cake. The colors are astoundingly bright! It was pieced by Leanne Hurley and machine quilted by Elvira Illig.

Folk Art Garden is a wool applique pattern by Lisa Bongean of Primitive Gatherings. The quilt was appliqued and quilted by Kathy Elvin. The colors are so mellow.

I spent a lot of time admiring this quilt. It’s called Bloomin’ Flowers by Barbara Burdette, machine quilted by Lisa Klingbiel. The tag says that it was a Bernina block of the month.

In trying to examine the squares in the awful county fair building lighting (!), I could see that each one had a theme and I guess this one is August. (Poor August has no holidays!) The work seems to be machine applique as well as some machine work – whether it’s freehand stitching or programmed, I can’t say. It’s a very fun quilt with great coloring.

Midwestern quilts tend to be low in contrast and primitive in feeling, so this bright beauty caught my eye. It’s one square in a quilt called Fireworks by Ingrid Nelson, machine quilted by Abigail Elliot. I really liked the asymmetric piecing of the square.

I think I’ll end today’s posting with this cute Santa quilt by Marty Jacobson. I can’t quite read who quilted it. The design source is a greeting card. It is very well done and has a lot of cute embellishments. I wonder if she has a series of “cards” that she hangs each year.

More coming tomorrow; I don’t like to overwhelm you with images! Too much stimulation might be a bad thing. ;-D

4 thoughts on “Prairie Treasures Quilt Show: part one

Leave a Reply

