Happy Halloween Quilt!

I have a lot of Halloween fabric; a collection in the making for some years. They mostly do not “go” with each other and so I look at them every year and wonder what I might do. This Summer I thought “Grandmother’s Flower Garden!”. It is the perfect way to make fabrics play with each other. I use a background or connector fabric between the hexes and I can move the flowers around so that the colors don’t clash so much. {;-D}

This is how I begin these quilts, which are my take along when I travel project. First I cut a bunch of middles that I think will be fun. This is going to be a very busy quilt!!!

I use a hexagon that measures 1.25″ on a side and so I rotary cut strips of fabrics 3.25. I cut a bunch and tuck them in a baggie. I also take along a clipboard with sandpaper on it for tracing the hexes, scissors, needles, pins and thread. I also have readers with a light in them, though I must say that motels have much better lighting these days. It is very fun to sit in a hotel room and spead the middles and “flower” sections on the bed and audition what goes with what!

I sew a “leaf” row as well, but I always choose that after I have sewn the “petal” row. These Halloween fabrics are definitely telling me how they want to go together.

For those of you keeping track; I allowed myself to begin the new Halloween quilt, because the Christmas one is too ungainly to transport. Check it out!!! I am working on this one during football games.

Although I don’t know if I will have it quilted for this Christmas, the top will be done….yippee!!!

Leave a Reply

