Foxy Ladies 1/12/13

It’s been several months since I was able to attend Foxy Lady Rug Hooking Guild’s meeting. It’s always fun to see what the ladies are working on. Hooking rugs is slow, so one of the nice things about going to a meeting is getting encouragement and being inspired. Here is some of what was going on.

I had a finish to show! In December, I worked hard on the mat I started in a class with Susan Quicksall. I love the design, and her colors, though I did tweak it a bit. It still needs some trimming and perhaps some more steaming and then I’d like to make it into a pillow.

My Susan Quicksall done!

Here is Pam’s progress on her geometric rug. It looks great, doesn’t it? She has several containers of cut strips and is coloring each section as she goes.I really like it!

Pam's geometric

Beth went to a rug camp in the Fall and this is the rug that she started there. They really do look like individual tiles, don’t they?

Beth's new rug

Barbara is working on this rug, which I was most interested to see because I also bought this pattern. It’s called Sebring Circles and it is from Searsport Rug Hooking. They have two versions of this rug on the front page of their website and they are quite different. Barbara is wondering about the background she chose, which is on the left between the two circles. From this shot it looks like it’s linen colored but it’s a bit warmer. Backgrounds are tricky and can make the pattern sing or dull it down; whatever you want. Finding the color you want is not easy.

Barbara's progress

A new member, Carol, finished her rug during the meeting! It is so exciting to complete a project and we all celebrated with her. The roses and the border are really yummy red plaids.

Carol's finished rug!

Another new member, Vicky, was sitting next to me. She was starting her first original design! The paper at the top of her hoop is what she is working from. She is using bits of wool from previous projects to create each square. It will be a fun exercise to see how colors work with each other.

Vicky's start

{Isn’t 1/12/13 the craziest looking date? Being in the 21st century still boggles my mind..}

4 thoughts on “Foxy Ladies 1/12/13

  1. Its so much fun to go to a group where you can see all the different designs and techniques. I don’t get to go very often but when I do I am overwhelmed with new ideas! Great rugs your ladies are working on.

    • I am not a big group person – I think I want to be in a quilt guild and then I don’t – but rug hooking is different. There are no stores around here where I can go look around and yak with people about hooking, as I can with quilting. It’s fun to see color and texture and new patterns!

    • Since you enjoy handwork and are so patient (picking out seams all the time!) I think you might like it. It’s nothing to do in a hurry but the results are wonderful.

Leave a Reply

