Tiny Wagon Wheel Quilt Progress

As one of my grandmothers would have said – these wagon wheel bits “are fiddle-y” to sew. English Paper Pieced hexagons are very easy to deal with, but these shapes, not so much. However, I am determined to get a wagon wheel “right”! First job was to sew a group of the spokes. Next up was choosing a background. I auditioned several color ideas. I really wanted a green, but I thought this dot was too bright. And the purple dot seemed to be a bit intense.

Purple & green

Another plan was to use a light background, but this dotty black was surprisingly distracting, and I never use plain white. I like the navy/tiny print on the right the most.

White ad blue backgrounds

In my last post, I forgot to mention that the middles of this English Paper Pieced quilt are hexagons, little ones. I have been choosing a different middle for each one. I debated using the same fabric, but I think that from a distance they might look like holes, rather than middles.

The fiddling continues and mistakes abound! As it happens, the top of the wheel pieces and the background pieces have a direction! I knew that but one night I wasn’t paying attention and sewed several groups of spokes the wrong way. I have been watching the season-enders of some TV shows and my excuse is that it can be hard to stitch and watch. (Scandal… OMG … and Agents of SHIELD and The Blacklist are really ramping up!!!) Now I have the side that I pin under the fabric marked in boldly in red, so it’s hard to miss. ;-D

Wagon wheel progress

I’m happily sewing.

Leave a Reply

