Framed Log Cabin Quilt

Hello from the studio! It’s still here, with its lovely cool pink walls, waiting for me to work again. It has been so beastly hot here  – I think I will be spending the afternoons working here in the cool.

I am still organizing the room… Sometimes I think I am crazy, arranging and re-arranging everything, but I have noticed that other quilters do this as well. Sometimes the dotted fabrics want to be together, sometimes the novelty fabrics want to be seen on a shelf rather than hiding in a bin and now the batiks all want to be stacked together . Whenever I sift through my fabrics, I see new color combinations and think of more quilt ideas. More UFO’s are not what I need, but I love to design quilts in my head.

I am calling this quilt pattern, framed log cabin. Though I like the looks of this design I am not thrilled with it. I am hoping that as I piece more rows together, it will be more exciting… ;-D

Framed Log Cabin

But, progress is being made, with Gizmo’s help!

Gizmo & log cabins

I am also working on pressing and trimming the Christmas Grandmother’s Flower Garden quilt to send to my friend Beth for machine quilting! It’s a lot of work to get all the seams flat and the quilt top smooth. This is NOT something I enjoy doing, though it is fun to see it again as I try to make it tidy for her. I am planning on using several of my large Christmas fabrics for the backing. I just have to dig the Christmas fabric bin out of the closet and see what I have.

Pressing GFG

 

3 thoughts on “Framed Log Cabin Quilt

  1. Hi, Debbie:

    Kris McDermott is indeed a lovely person and a fantastic teacher. (Her husband didn’t accompany her this time, so I wasn’t able to meet him.) After 20 or so years of rug hooking, I rarely take classes, but I would take hers again in an instant.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog. I seem to have fallen off the blog wagon — both posting on mine and reading others. Your blog is great to visit — I love the crisp look of it and your beautiful photographs of flowers and your work.

    Enjoy the rest of the summer.
    Sarah

Leave a Reply

