AQS Charlotte Show; Color!

Wow – I haven’t been to a (big) quilt show in a very long time so I was excited to attend the new AQS show in Charlotte. They have added several new shows this year and I am also hoping to go to Chattanooga in September. I hopped in the car early Friday morning and headed off to Charlotte. It was a good show and I enjoyed being inspired. Because I am not a fan of posts where the blogger just posts picture after picture (it’s boring!), I have decided to break down my collection of pictures into categories. Today’s is color, my favorite part of quilting!

Rainbow Star was made by Carol McDowell and Kim Burterbaugh. There were two of these Judy Niemeyer quilts in the show and this was my favorite. (Didn’t it photograph well?) It’s hard to see in this photo, but the variety of fabrics in the flying geese border is amazing. The color moves so well from family to family. Carol must have an amazing fabric stash!

Rainbow Star

At every quilt show, I think I am tired of Baltimore Album type quilts, but then I find one that is different in its use of color or design. This is Autumn Journey at White Oak by Kathryn Zimmerman. Rather than having a variety of appliquéd squares, the many borders around the beautiful center square makes it quite unique. The yellows are so inviting and the red-orange (which didn’t photograph that well) adds such a pop. Being a fan of hearts, I very much admire the designs of the heart squares.

Autumn Journey at White Oak

And yum – how delicious are these colors??? This beauty is Adagio by Diane Hire. Her quilts always are amazingly colored and beautifully designed. The cool exterior moves into such a bright and warm middle. Here is another link that tells more about her work.

Adagio

This has to be my favorite quilt! It is Grande Finale and was made by Tami Graeber. The color called to me from across the convention center.

Grand Finale

From a distance it looked to be all the same orange fabric, but there are subtleties when you look close up. I really liked the surprise of the jeweled button or brooch in the middle! So many of the flowers and butterflies are fussy cut and done in a broderie perse fashion. And it’s not overly quilted – just enough to highlight the design.

Grand Finale detail

This is an astounding use of color! From a distance this quilt looks like Chinese or Japanese embroidery. As I approached it, I wondered if the quilter had used silks for the appliqué. But no, she picked intensely colored hand dyed fabrics to give the look of silk embroidery!!! Susan Marra made this beauty.

Japanese Fighting Roosters

Next post: Modern Quilts…

 

Leave a Reply

