Houston’s Ruby Show: Just a Few More Quilts

This is the last group of quilts that I’d like to show you and they really don’t make a group…

One special exhibit that I very much enjoyed this year were traditional quilts from Australia. These quilts suffer from a bad rap : I was taking some photographs when two ladies buzzed through the area. One said “Oh – traditional quilts – nothing new here.” The comment annoyed me a good deal. I find myself more and more fond of them. Some of them are quite traditional in design but masterfully made. Other traditional quilts have a twist in their pattern or color story. Years ago when I lived in Colorado, the Art Quilters there stated in a show (where I was a docent) that their work had nothing to do with traditional quilts. Really??? Peter and I discussed that comment for a long time. It’s hard to understand why they would need to say that, when we are all so familiar with the quote that nothing is new under the sun. I’m ranting a bit here, but I’ll stop now and show you a few more wonderful quilts.

Back to the Australian quilts! I was looking at the thumbnail of this quilt on my computer and it looks as stunning in a postage stamp size as it does in the full-sized version. This is called Finding the Way and it was made by Victoria Wodonga  Carolyn Konig*. There is just nothing like hundreds of triangles pieced so beautifully to make an impression.

Finding the Way

You don’t need to be a quilter to see that this pattern, called Indiana Rising Sun, would be a doozy to make! Victoria Blackburn, another Aussie quilter created this quilt and was inspired by one made in Indiana in the 1860’s. The color didn’t come out at all well, it wasn’t this muddy brown. It has a bit of an optical illusion to it, when I first looked at it I thought it was a spiral. The design does take your eye around and around.

Indiana Rising Sun

Another of the special exhibits at the show was to raise awareness about animals and shelters. It was called “It’s Raining Cats and Dogs”. This quilt, called Bookends, was designed and made by Kim Kooyers. She is a student of David Taylor‘s and I got to chat with her while she was helping David in a class I had with him. It’s hand appliquéd and machine quilted and features her two cats. Most of the quilts in this exhibit were photographic in nature…

Bookends

and then I saw this quilt! As you non quilters may imagine, this sort of quilt is called a kaleidoscope. I thought perhaps it was hung in the wrong spot and then I took a closer look.

Canine Kaleidoscope

Here is your close up of Canine Kaleidoscope by Cathy Pfaff. Each slice of the circle is a photograph of her dog Mac, or another of the family pets. In her statement, she said that she used Kaleidoscope Kreator 3 to design this quilt. (They had a booth at the show and it looked quite interesting.) Cathy certainly gets a prize from me for her innovative idea for that category!

Canine Kaleidoscope detail

If you are curious to find out more about the 40th IQA show, you can google it. There are many bloggers who are posting pictures and we have all chosen different quilts for show and tell.

*thanks to Viva for correcting my mistake!

6 thoughts on “Houston’s Ruby Show: Just a Few More Quilts

  1. It makes me crazy that people would be so dismissive of traditional quilts! Where do they get off? Quilters seem to make these fairly arbitrary, and disparaging, distinctions more readily than other crafters, it seems to me. Or am I over-reacting?

    • Well, the new “Modern Quilts” movement amuses/annoys me, I must say. (Though I am happy to see young women liking the style and getting involved.) When I started quilting in the late 1980’s, the typical sampler quilt had white backgrounds and mostly solid commercial fabrics in the pattern. And that’s what the Modern Quilters like! Their patterns are quirky adaptions of traditional designs with asymmetry and lots more quilting than used to be done, but still, it’s quite derivative. And yes, maybe you’re right about quilters being worse than others. I remember going to the Picasso Museum in Paris and being stunned by his traditional sort of work. As we progressed through the museum, I could see how he got to his abstract work. It all made sense. So dismissing what came before is almost stupid, since most painters start with the masters.
      Getting off my soapbox now! Thanks for your comment Kerry. ;-D

  2. Thank you for sharing the photos. I get more out of looking at photos taken by attendees than I get from the show websites. Attendees offer opinions and have pictures of quilts that may not be judged the winners but are great quilts anyway.

    • Thanks, Anita. I have read some other blogs with Houston pictures and I don’t think any of us liked the grand prize winner (though I haven’t said so!). It was amazing but too far from being “quilty” for my taste. s I said, I find myself drawn to the old patterns done in innovative colors or tweaked.

  3. Thanks for sharing great photos! I know this is an old post but just to let you know “Finding The Way” is made by Carolyn Konig and the pattern is listed on her website 🙂

    • Thank you so much for letting me know! I really hate it when bloggers do not credit the quilters whose work they post and I am so sorry to have gotten the wrong name. I will correct it now.

Leave a Reply

