Florida Harbor Hookin’

This is the reason I’ve been traveling to Florida – to attend this  hook in. It is sponsored by Searsport Rug Hooking, a store in Maine which relocates to Florida in the Winter. I get their newsletter and suddenly noticed their workshop listings and event details and it sounded like fun. My brother lives in Florida as well, so there were two good reasons to go.

This is what a room with about 300 (mostly) women looks like! It’s hard to see, but there are many vendors set up around the edge of the ballroom, who came from all over. Fun!

image

It was a two-day event, on Wednesday and Thursday, and I had a workshop on each morning. On Tuesday the class was about various ways to finish hooked rugs. Though not the best teacher, the woman did have some (new-to-me) ideas. She had pre-made samples so we could try some of her ideas. I must admit I did not envy her having to explain to 15 women with varying degrees of expertise how to do picot beading or crochet!

Hooked rug finishes

On Thursday morning I had a class on using dip dyed wool to hook scrolls. I know my rug hooking teacher taught me how to do this, but that was a very long time ago – plus I really like the pattern and colors! The teacher was Angela Foote, a former Home Ec teacher who provided a lovely kit and who gave clear and precise directions. Here is what I accomplished on Thursday.

Angela Foote heart scrolls

It’s Friday morning and  the weather is grey and cool and rainy. I had hoped to do some beach walking, but instead I will find something drier to do. Eventually, I’m heading north, to Bradenton Beach where my brother lives.

Leave a Reply

