A Rug Hooking Re-do Project

I am in the midst of trying to finish up the Vermont Shells hooked rug and it’s bulky to move around. I have joined a local rug hooking group and need something to take along with me to work on, so I dug around in the rug hooking bin and found this rug! This is not a new project, you can see the part I ripped out, but one that I started in Illinois and was not happy with. I was teaching rug hooking at various places and kept designing little 8″ pieces that seemed like a good size for students to complete and could be made into something. I liked the designs, most of which were quilt-y sort of designs and came up with the idea to put them all in one sampler rug. You can see that I started to hook the heart square and I am fairly sure that I was using dark reds and trying to choose a black and white tweedy background and I didn’t like any of it! I am so glad I stopped working on it. Now that we live in South Carolina, I am not so interested in dark, wintery sort of colors. I am always very affected by the colors where we live and dark just doesn’t sing to me right now.

Sampler Hooked Rug

So, what colors to play with next? I was sifting through my shelves of hand of dyed wool and came across the basket with marbleized fabrics in it. Wow! I really enjoyed dyeing them but they are so different and I wasn’t sure where to use them. How about using them in the re-do?

Marbelized wool choices

So here’s the start of the hooking. I designed this pattern for a quilt store class (called Katie’s Leaves) and here it is in the Primitive Colors that they liked so much! I know I am going to love my version…

Katie's Flower re-do

I am now very pleased to have such a fun portable hooking project.

11 thoughts on “A Rug Hooking Re-do Project

  1. LOVE the way those marbelized fabrics look when they’re hooked up – this is going to be spectacular! (can’t get the link to work for the other version)

    • Let’s do! Sorry, I’ve been trying to get the powder room all painted so that my husband can install the new pedestal sink and repair the toilet. We’re under a deadline for a neighborhood party! I leave for Florida and more hooking on Monday. Let’s shoot for mid March. Hope you’re staying warm!

Leave a Reply

