Feathered Star With Fancy Middle & A Giveaway!

The last feathered star square I made went so well that I thought I would try another, so I printed out the pieces for a larger, 15″ square. I wanted another fun middle and when I was rummaging around in my Asian stash of fabrics and tidbits, I found some reverse appliqué pieces done by the Hmong ladies, which you have just read about. I printed out more foundations for the small 10″ size, which was a perfect fit for this tiny 3″ square.

Grey & Pink Hmong

 

And here she is – – –

Pink Hmong Star

What a disaster! I have no idea in what order I pieced the first one, which went quite smoothly and is very flat. I sewed several sections of this one together and kept boxing myself in! I would end up with several interior seams to piece and no way to get them to cooperate. (I was also piecing in little “pleats”) I really wish I had made a master piecing plan of the first star and numbered the large sections to remind me of what I did. I finally had to rip all the pieces apart and start over – – – it was very frustrating. It’s not very flat or even and I am hoping that lots of quilting in the background areas will hide my wonky seams. I am happy with the overall design and all my fun hand dyed fabrics though…

There was a good bit of interest in the Hmong reverse appliquéd squares. As usual, when I find something unusual, I buy multiples of them and so I have a little stash of these squares. If you would like one to frame or make something out of, I have picked three pretty examples to give away. Leave a message and I will choose three winners on  Saturday. First winner gets to choose the one she wants, and then number two gets her choice…

Tiny orange-y pink: design area about 3″

Tiny orange-y pink

Small red and black: design area about 3″

Small red and black

Red and green: design area about 6″

Red and green

 

6 thoughts on “Feathered Star With Fancy Middle & A Giveaway!

  1. It’s lovely! The fabrics complement the little inner square perfectly! I’m torn between the tiny orange-y pink and red & black one. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Oh, my–I think your little feathered star is gorgeous! I love the color combo and the way the center is featured by the design! And please put my name in the drawing for one of your treasures!

  3. It’s another lovely color combination! Isn’t it funny how things never go the same way twice. Like gardening. I like the orange-y pink square. Nice incorporation of folk art.

Leave a Reply

