Jamie Wyeth’s Animals

The Greenville County Museum of Art had a show of Jamie Wyeth’s recent work and I was very anxious to see it. I grew up In Pennsylvania and we (along with the Maniacs I’m sure!) consider the Wyeth family to be ours. I’ve been to Chadds Ford several times and enjoyed all the Wyeth-related things to see and do. (GCMA claims to have the largest watercolor collection of Andrew Wyeth’s work in the world and I look forward to seeing it as it’s shown!)

Jamie Wyeth, born 1946, initially studied painting from his Aunt Carolyn. I remember first hearing about him in the late 1960’s when Jamie was asked by the Kennedy family to paint a portrait of the late President – – – at age 20. I also remember there being a lot written about him in the 1970’s when he was pals with the likes of Andy Warhol and Rudolph Nureyev in New York City. Anyway! I enjoyed the show and decided to share with you his paintings of animals. I’m lucky as the museum just recently decided to allow non-flash photography.

What is a polecat? I would have said these were skunks or badgers, but they are polecats! I thought they had foam coming out of their mouths, but it’s eggs. Perhaps while they eat the eggs, the poor hens are safe.

Polecats

Polecats

They look pretty scary in this painting. Imagine unsuspecting Aunt Carolyn wanting to pick her iris and finding these guys growling at her.

Carolyn Wyeth's Irises

Carolyn Wyeth’s Irises

I found his whites to be so interesting. Here is an angry swan with the most amazing sunrise in the distance. I like the position of the swan in the painting – he certainly looks like he’s ready to attack.

Angered Swan

Angered Swan

And more incredible whites in this painting, called The Coop, Fourth in a Suite of Untoward Occurrences on Mohegan Island. Looks like the chickens escaped the coop and the kids are trying to save them from the polecats!

The Coop

The Coop

Here is a close-up of the chickens. The whites are full of so many colors in the late day sunlight.

The Coop close-up

The Coop close-up

This fox is watching the sun set, and aren’t sunsets are so brilliant in the Winter? That amazing strip of bright color would attract anyone’s attention.

Snow Fox

Snow Fox

For the cat lovers among us is this wonderful piece with hunting cats in every position imaginable. This is Birding, Fifth in a Suite of Untoward Occurrences on Mohegan Island.

Birding

Birding

And yes, this is not an animal! I wanted to end with one of Jamie’s dramatic landscapes. This lonely house (perhaps) on Mohegan Island on a Winter’s evening sang to me. Or maybe it’s not lonely – do you see the light on in the upstairs room? I can hear the waves crashing as someone snuggles into bed and picks up a good book and perhaps a fire is burning too. The title Spindrift intrigued me and I looked it up. Spindrift is the spray from a cresting wave.

Spindrift

Spindrift

2 thoughts on “Jamie Wyeth’s Animals

  1. I’m so glad you showed these! We went to a show, at Shelburne Museum in VT, a couple years ago, that had works by grandfather NC Wyeth, Andrew, and Jamie. It was amazing to see the work of the three generations together, to see the “family resemblance.” Jamie’s work is distinctive and always a little spooky, I think.

    • I agree! His work seems more like NC than his father’s and there is an eerie quality to it. The light in so many of the paintings was sunset or sunrise, making the colors so dramatic, (like NC). Some of the paintings had very quirky subject matter, which I quite liked, but I probably wouldn’t buy. (As if I could!) I enjoyed looking at the Andrew paintings on display. I was amazed, again, how he handled the whites. A white sheet of watercolor paper and a fireplace that was mostly white and how he added bits of color so you could see the fireplace. Since I am not a painter, I just can’t see how that might be done…

Leave a Reply

