It Was A Dark & Stormy Day…

Hooray! This Summer in South Carolina has been endlessly hot, humid and sunny. Yesterday the storm clouds arrived early in the morning and we had several downpours during the day. One was really violent with probably 50 mph winds and we lost power for about two hours. On a day like that, I declare it to be an indoor day. {When I lived in Singapore, except for Monsoon Season in January, it was mostly sunny, hot and humid. When we would have a cloudy day, my friend Beth and I would call each other up and discuss what we were going to do on our indoor day! When it’s nice out, you just feel the need to be doing something in the sun.}

Of course I decided to sew some more nine patches. Then, because I had so many of them, I sewed some double nines as well. When I completed nine double nines, I realized that if I use the medallion type layout, that I was done piecing. I put a fresh sheet on our bed and tried out the different layouts.

Here is a reminder of the first layout, the horizontal one. I’m adding these thumbnails in so you can see the whole design. It’s hard to lay squares out on the bed and really get the whole picture.

Master bedroom quilt idea 2

Obviously I can add more squares on each row, or leave it as is and have a large border. I like to make square, symmetrical quilts for our queen sized bed so that I can rotate them, for even wear. Cats, accidents, the sun from the window all “weather” a quilt.

Straight pattern

Here is the medallion layout.

Masterbedroom quilt idea 4

It’s just nine double nines with a border fabric (on the right) which is so pale that you can hardly see it! This design would be centered on the bed and have lots of border fabric to make it the correct size.

Medallion layout

And this is the four on point design…

Masterbedroom quilt idea 3

…with the whole bed covered in double nines on point.

Four on point layout

Peter helped me arrange the squares and we discussed the merits of each layout. He thinks I should make the middle design – the medallion one. (I like that one too!) He’s been noticing that the new Sweet Sixteen machine has been quiet this Summer as I dart in and out of the studio. Those big borders have lots of room for machine quilting. I hope I’m up to the task!

Next up – what to put in the medallion part of the quilt.

10 thoughts on “It Was A Dark & Stormy Day…

    • That’s right! Some American sweet treat… I remember during the January monsoons, the Singaporeans would say “It’s so cold, lah” to which I’d reply, “Its less hot!” NC should be cooler for you, with some sweat pants weather in the Winter. ;-D

  1. It’s fun to see you try out different options. That’s one of the things I like about quilting-you can start making pretty blocks and wait to figure out what to do with them!

      • How exciting!!!!!!!! I would so like a new kitten but Peter keeps saying no. I know it will upset the balance of the two we have, but they don’t much care for each other anymore. I hope you will post pictures and details!

      • My husband is a softer touch than I am! He’s the one who had to have this kitten. I’m not sure I’ll post much. We have what is euphemistically known as “multiple” cats and people can pretty judgmental . . .

      • I get it. And people with kids think that those of us with cat or dog kids are silly or sad. But you’ll come up with a funny twist on it, I’m sure!

Leave a Reply

