It’s Santa Central!

You may remember that last December I went to visit friends and relatives in Pennsylvania and while there, I made a Santa with my niece and her son. I wasn’t in love with him but I didn’t have much time to find a pattern and try it and wasn’t sure what they might be up for. At the time, I looked at a lot of online patterns and ordered a number of them…just in case.

I got a text from my niece a few months ago asking about a return visit. I said no a few times, but then she bent my arm – I really have trouble saying no to her. I got out the patterns last month and sorted through them. I am not a dollmaker nor do I really like sewing 3D items like teddy bears. However two patterns from Sweet Meadows Farm on Etsy seemed do-able.
So here is what my great-nephew is going to make! This Santa is one of A Few Good Men and here’s the link to the pattern. He looks funny at first with his necked body.
Necked Santa
Then most of his body is painted. It is a Primitive type pattern, meaning that lots of coffee staining is involved and there were directions for sanding and rubbing cinnamon on the body. I opted for a less distressed Santa and used the brush strokes to make him looked used.
Santa body paint
 He looks difficult, but as I am no doll maker (yet!) I can tell you that he’s not. The part I worried about most were his eyes. I did not do as the pattern suggested, which was embroidering them, but drew the eyes on with colored pencil as the pattern maker suggested for another Santa pattern. His fleece beard is needle felted on and that was really easy too. I fiddled around with his hat a good bit, as I did last year. I realized they bother me because the Santas do not have round heads so the hats sit on them oddly. A bit of stuffing fixed it to my satisfaction. I did rather enjoy drizzling coffee on his trim to make it look old.
Santa face
I have been sewing Santa bits the last few days and Jasmine has been helping to make sure that all the supplies I need to take get into my suitcase! It will be a relief to get this all packed up and my Santas hung up. I must admit that for one week, I drove each day to Hobby Lobby, Joann’s or Michael’s to find what I needed! I also did some shopping on Etsy for fleece for the second Santa’s beard. Wait until you see him!
Jasmine helps with Santa
I am just in love with him and had the best fun creating him. Here is his “beauty shot”!
IMG_5519

8 thoughts on “It’s Santa Central!

  1. Your Santas are wonderful! Their faces are so expressive and sweet. How big are they? It looks like they’re quite small–that makes the work that much more difficult, right?

    • I should have used a ruler for scale like Peter always wants to do. ;-D Actually this guy is about 16″ so he was easy to do. I was thinking about trying a smaller one though the pattern says you can’t change the size… And yes, I’m sure smaller is harder.

Leave a Reply

