The Twenty Year Old Rug…….

…turns twenty-one!

I had the best intentions last year – I did plan to finish the Vermont Shells rug! Once it was December though, I was diverted by Santa making and I started to work on a Christmas cross stitch project as well…

Vermont Shells border

I have been working on the green shells (upper right) during the NFL play-off games and they are done. Now to work on the border and clip the tails I have left hanging. After I complete the front, then I turn the rug over and look for “holidays”, which are areas where I need to add some hooking. It’s pretty tedious but it must be done. Then I can find some yarn to bind the border. {sigh}

Hooked rug "holidays"

This is the project I was stitching in December instead of the hooking. I really enjoy working on Christmas during the “proper” month… These two stocking counted cross stitch patterns are from Birds of a Feather. I bought them because I love the designs, although I wasn’t sure what I would do with them as I don’t make stockings. Then, while perusing Pinterest one day, I noticed that many people combined patterns, a mash-up of ideas. I will show you my idea in December when I work on this again. I thought I would go blind while stitching the snowman, and I am glad that he is done!

Birds of a Feather snowman

I also discovered this annoying cross stitch project as I was cleaning and organizing the studio and I am adding that to the current to-do list. It is also a Birds of a Feather Design. I cannot do it while watching T.V. Not only have I enlarged it, but you can see that I have cut or marked the pattern in pieces so I can keep better track of where I am.

Birds of a Feather toile rooster

You Northerners will laugh, but here is the unusual view from the back porch today! It snows in South Carolina once or twice a year and so it is a novelty and quite terrifying for some. It’s been snowing, but mostly “snow pellets” are falling. It’s windy and there are waves on the lake and the birds are frantic for seeds and the suet cakes.

Lake Robinson 1/22/16

Hope you all survive The Big Storm and find fun and creative things to do. I’m heading downstairs to work on the rooster…

8 thoughts on “The Twenty Year Old Rug…….

  1. I think you have more snow than we do! This winter is so weird. Your projects are great but I am especially impressed with the rug! It’s gorgeous and you MUST finish it! You won’t put it on the floor for people to walk on, though, will you?

    • It looks like it snowed all last night as well. Haven’t been out yet but it looks like at least 6″ which is an enormous amount for around here! Thanks about the rug. It is SO tedious to do…. Peter has always loved it so it will go beside his side of the bed. Not a big traffic area! I believe in using rugs, woven or hooked, though not in areas where they get abuse…

  2. Better you than us with the winter weather. It was 80 in Tucson this weekend! We were able to eat lunch outside at the hook-in. I got a little sunburn! …I love the play-offs. I get so much hooking done on those days. Though the Patriots losing yesterday…didn’t love that so much.

    • I was happy to get the snow but it’s ridiculous around here when we do have it. No plowing, no salt out where we live and who knows downtown. I usually stay home for several days until I think the roads are okay. No one knows how to drive in it, so it’s dangerous. We had/have a lot of ice, which is nasty. Tom did not look good on Sunday – it was surprising. Not sure I’ve seen him hit so much. Cam kicked butt after the almost lost game the week before. I just hope it’s a good Super Bowl!

Leave a Reply

