Blue & White Quilts

O my! I was digging through a box yesterday and came across three quilt tops. I dragged everything out and took them downstairs to the great room, where we have a new (blue) rug. Of course I knew they would look good with it – blue and white is a no-brainer. The question is – how many blue & white quilts does one woman need???

This pattern is called Delectable Stars and is from QNM January/February 2000 and was designed by Brenda Henning. I began these two quilts when we were living in an apartment in Chicago as I house hunted. That was 2005. I sewed on our little diningroom table during the day and cleared everything away before Peter got home. I called them “Chicago Blues”, after the jazz scene, not the way I was feeling. This is the baby version and the squares are 11.5″ . I just love the woven feel of this setting. The little rows of triangles are paper pieced and I do remember drafting them and then asking Peter to print out the papers for me at work.

Tiny Delectable Stars

What I do not recall is why I felt the need to make two sizes of them… The big squares are 18″. Perhaps if I continue to piece both sizes, I will do a different layout for each one. (Several other ideas for settings are shown in the article and they are all interesting.) We’ll see. It’s not as though I don’t have a million WIP’s!

Blue & white quilts

The spinning stars is a later UFO and in searching my blog, I see I started it in 2011. I was making another colorway of this design and I lost it – probably left in the trunk of a rental car. Here is a template you can buy from Pat Yamin. I just ordered another as the original must have been with the lost quilt.

Spinning stars

It is clear need to catalog my WIPs and decide which of them I may actually want to complete… I downloaded this quilt organizer from Stately Type – it might help. (They also have some very fun t-shirts for us creative types.) So little time, so many interesting things to do and so much yard work! ;-D

4 thoughts on “Blue & White Quilts

  1. First, to answer the question about how many blue and white quilts a person needs–there couldn’t be too many!! It’s my fave color combo! Yours are very pretty and I think you need to put them higher on your WIP pile, although I am very sympathetic to all the demands you have on your time!

    • Yes….as a multi tasker/multi fiber lover, I know you know what it’s like to do many disciplines and try to get them done. I am trying to get a dish towel warp on and it’s going slowly…..

    • Thanks Barb. I love B&W. Some years ago I took the big Chicago Blues pieces to a class where the instructor gave ideas for quilting. I got out the pieces and she said it made her head ache!!! I was quite insulted. Two color quilts are classics!

Leave a Reply

