An Exciting Friday Finish!!!

It has been excessively hot and humid here; we’ve had days and days of over 90 degree heat. The gardens are growing away and though it’s time to re-plant some veggies, they don’t need my attention. And of course the weeds are growing too, but oh well. So I’ve been indoors more, working on the Double Nine Patch quilt top. Sewing the squares together on the diagonal means that they get quite large and unwieldy and do not fit on the design board anymore.

Double nine patch sewing

This middle strip is 104″ long and if you are good at geometry, you get that!

Too big for design wall!

Those of you who follow my blog know that I don’t often finish projects, so this is A Red Letter Day. The Double Nine Patch top is nearly done! In looking through my blog posts, I found that I started it last July, so this isn’t a bad finish for me…

Triple Nines!

To complete the top, I need to decide how long the border strips will be, so that the quilt will tuck under our thick new mattress. The color inspiration was the scrap of fabric on the headboard. Though the windows have shutters and don’t need curtains, I plan to make some to break up all the wall space. {And re-paint the walls…}

Triple Nines color inspiration

I actually finished on Thursday and was all set to photograph the quilt on our bed – but – His Nibs was napping and I didn’t want to bother him. ;-D

Gizmo's nap

I’m doing a little happy dance now…

9 thoughts on “An Exciting Friday Finish!!!

  1. Deb…it’s too hot to dance, but I am so excited for you nonetheless! I have so enjoyed seeing the progress on this and looking forward the finish!

    • It is hot, isn’t it? Whew! I can’t remember when it was cooler than 90… I am pleased with the quilt but it will be a long time before I get it on the bed. Have you made a bed quilt yet?

    • Thanks Laura! It’s funny – I photographed it in the awful red room (when Gizmo was sleeping in our bed) and it really didn’t look great. Color is everything…..

    • Such a good question! Quilting is not my strong suit, either the planning or the execution. The wheels are machine appliquéd on and I want to make sure they are well quilted. And all the squares beg for a nice pattern… Stay tuned! I am going to quilt another (twin) bed quilt first, to get more practice.

Leave a Reply

